Cinnamon Pecan Sticky Rolls

It can be difficult to find a sourdough recipe that produces a soft dough like a commercial yeasted dough. I have been working on that problem for a while. Usually the long ferment will make the dough quite tasty but somewhat chewy or tough for a sweet dough.

However in my one of my earlier posts I came up with a sourcream sourdough, that I used for a Danish type of bread. It was a very nice dough so I though I would see how it worked for a cinnamon roll type of dough. It came out superb! The dough had wonderful texture, crumb, flavor and was very soft!! YES!!! So if you want to try out a cinnamon roll dough that is soft, but still 100% sourdough , here it is: https://northwestsourdough.wordpress.com/2010/07/15/sourcream-cranberry-breakfast-bread/

I made the same amount of dough and rolled it out in a rectangular shape about 17 x 20. Then I spread 2 oz of softened butter over the rolled out dough. Next, I made up a brown sugar/cinnamon mixture to spread over the dough using:

  1. Brown Sugar – 6 oz
  2. Cinnamon – .2 oz (2 teaspoons)

Then I rolled up the dough and sliced it into rolls:

I used a half sized baking sheet and added this mixture to the pan before putting in the rolls:

In a bowl mix together:

  1. Brown Sugar- 9 oz
  2. Honey – 1.5 oz
  3. Melted butter – 3 oz
  4. 3/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
  5. 1 teaspoon vanilla – .2 oz

Pour this mixture over a baking sheet that has been sprayed with pan spray. Then sprinkle 1 cup of chopped pecan nuts over the mixture in the pan.

Place your rolls on top of the mixture and bake for about 20 -22 minutes at 400F.

When your rolls are done, let the pan cool one minute and then place another empty pan over your rolls , invert the pans and transfer the pecan sticky side up rolls to the clean pan. Let the mixture drip a bit until the mixture is coating the rolls and then scrape off whatever is left and place it on your perfect pecan rolls.

I am glad I have a lot of nice neighbors who don’t mind eating my excess bakery goods! Enjoy!

4 Responses

  1. You’re killing me, Theresa! I have just gotten down to my pre-having kids weight–for the first time in over 20 years–and you just keep posting these amazing recipes! Your “nice” neighbors? You mean your GRATEFUL neighbors! 🙂 Thanks again–I’ll give it a try.

  2. Oops! Sorry Patty, I pretty much did what you did too, I am smaller now than I have ever been. But I enjoy baking so much! I just don’t eat a lot of it, I share it around. Maybe you will have some “grateful” neighbors?

  3. Boy, do these bring back memories! As a kid, I lived on a farm in N J – and sometimes, as a special treat, we’d go to the little German bakery in our Saturday shopping town – I don’t think we ever got anything else there but these – but I’m sure they weren’t sourdough, but those folks had the formula down really well. I remember that if you were lucky, you got a bun on the edge where the caramel had hardened into chewy candy. Damn, they were good! As are these I’m sure, but I’m going to save them for another day, since I’m in the middle of doing last week’s Sourdough Ginger Cake today.

    Thanks for treating us so well, Teresa.

  4. You’re welcome DrFugawe, these are a lot of fun to make and even more fun to eat!

Leave a Reply

