Salt Fermented Sourdough and my Book

I have been playing with the salt fermented dough again. I cut down on the amount of salt in the initial pre ferment dough and it still did very well. I am not sure if it is better or what, it came out really good. I have to experiment with it a few more times to see what is different enough about it to compare it with the first iteration.

I am also back in Tokeland and having a cool wet summer so far. Great weather for baking though! I came here to clean up the place and get rid of stuff. It has been a while since we left here to live in Hawaii.

I did not have an oven when I got here, but had to bake my bread in the shop next door, where my son has his place.  I did not want to buy a new oven right now, so I decided to wait. Then I found an oven for free on the side of the road when I came home from town. It was an odd looking oven with solid flat burners and a nice sized oven. We came home, got the dolly and went and grabbed the oven. I baked with it for the first time today and I loved it! It bakes great bread.

Here is the result of today’s baking:

This is the signature loaf in my book, “Discovering Sourdough”  I submitted the manuscript to Ten Speed Press over a year ago and it actually made it to the aquisition stage, but they chose to redo Ed Wood’s book instead, as he is a more well known author.

Then Running Press Book Publishers had my book and the editor there said he really liked it and was even thinking of starting to bake sourdough himself, but my book was too technical for the style of books his company publishes. They publish quick and easy kinds of baking, and well, mine isn’t about quick and easy. It is about long and fun. It’s the book you will want if you started with,” Artisan Breads in 5 Minutes a Day”, and are wanting to take the next step.

I now have queried the publisher, Harvard Common Press and I am waiting to hear back from them. So please be patient, I will let you know when I hear any positive news. Thank you to all of you who have emailed me over the past year encouraging me and asking about my book.

Peter Reinhart has been helping me throughout this whole process and has offered to write the preface for the book. He has been very kind and supportive, which is what he is well known for being. Thanks Peter!

I am hoping to be doing a lot more baking now that I have an oven back in my kitchen. Happy baking everyone!

18 Responses

  1. Good looking sourdough bread. I would like to read more about making sourdough.
    John

  2. Interestingly enough, I just got out all the sourdough information and recipes I’ve collected from you over the past couple of years. I had a hard time getting a new starter going but followed your method and today I was able to get my first batch going.

    You are my sourdough idol! I can’t wait to get your whole book!

    Kathy

  3. I am so excited to see that you are back! When is your book coming out? I hope it is soon. Your site is the most informative I have ever seen. I also enjoy all the family pictures.

  4. Teresa, you certainly have a gift and talent for explaining sourdough baking!

    Every recipe has detailed info that guides the baking process from start to finish.

    It is so rewarding and relaxing to bake a delicious loaf of homemade bread …………..and then to share it with others!

    I am looking forward to your book in the near future!

  5. Loved you’re recipes – can’t wait for the book!!!

  6. I hope you do publish a book. The children and I have enjoyed making and eating the recipes here so much and it would be easier to have everything collected in one spot instead of baking from print-outs. I tried a few other recipes around the web, but we keep coming back to yours because they are so much better. My mouth is watering just thinking about the bread.

  7. Keep us updated with news about the book. I’m still waiting patiently for my copy!

  8. May your success in t he publishing world be as great as it is in the baking world!

    Many of us have benefited from your generous sharing of information. It would be grand to see that audience widened!

  9. THIS SOOKS SO GOOD! — I GUESS WE WILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR YOUR BOOK TO GET THE RECIPE?

    TONY

  10. YES!! This is the BEST news! I want to see books, webinars, and eCourses from you as well. You are a true gem to the slow food movement. And I’m right behind Kathy for that autographed book copy!

  11. Beautiful loaves! Wow. And they look delicious inside! Good luck with the book — keep us posted. 😉

  12. Why don’t you try Simon and Schuster? They release books on a lot of different formats including digital versions. http://www.simonsays.com

  13. I can’t wait to see the book when it comes out. Whenever you talk about sourdough I want to test my skills. Maybe with the book I’ll actually get around to doing it.

  14. Teresa,
    I think you’re onto something! Getting back to the basics is all the rave right now, and old-fashioned bread baking is part of it. I think there’s a real market for the delicious bread (and instructions) that you offer. Do you have a Facebook page? I bet you’d get tons of ‘likes’ and interest in your book if you did. I’m drooling just looking at these pictures–
    Theresa

  15. That bread looks so good! I enjoy your blog posts, and am looking forward to the book — let us know when it’s published!

  16. It’s the book you will want if you started with,” Artisan Breads in 5 Minutes a Day”, and are wanting to take the next step.

    Oh perfect! My sister and I love the 5 Minutes a Day book and their healthy 5 Minutes a Day book. We took turns checking it out at the library so mnay times, she eventually had to buy her own! Your book indeed sounds like the next step.

  17. Its’s dangerous to read your blog before breakfast…now I have sourdough bread on the brain all day… I hope the book gets published sometime soon.

    Ame

  18. HAVE YOU EVER POSTED THE SALT FERMENTED SOURDOUGH RECIPE — IF SO I HAVE NEVER FOUND IT — WOULD LOVE TO TRY IT —

    TONYK

Leave a Reply

