Austrian Sourdough

Austrian Sourdough

Austrian Sourdough

I have my Austrian Sourdough Starter going and made up a batch of Austrian Sourdough bread. This is what I did:

In the late afternoon around 4:00pm I made up a batch of dough in my mixer using:

  • 1 lb 12 oz of 166% Austrian Sourdough Starter
  • 18 oz water
  • 6 oz evaporated milk
  • 3 lbs 3 oz of bread flour
  • 1.2 oz salt (added after autolyse)

I did the usual of mixing up the dough just enough to incorporate all of the ingredients. Then I let the dough rest for 20 minutes (autolyse). After Autolyse was over, I added the salt. Then I mixed the dough for about one more minute. I let the dough bulk ferment and turned the dough a few times during the ferment (either fold the dough or turn it in the mixer a few turns). The dough fermented for six hours and then I shaped the dough into loaves. The dough was bubbly, stretchy and very nice. The gluten was well developed. This was at 10 pm at night. I did the timing so late because I had to go to town in the morning and I knew I wouldn’t be back until around lunchtime. I didn’t want the dough to be ready to bake first thing in the morning or overfermented when I was ready to bake it. I actually did that last weekend and it was a disaster, so I wasn’t going to repeat it. Last weekend, I had dough ready to bake first thing in the morning, however, I forgot I had to go out in the morning. When I finally baked it, later in the afternoon, the dough was crepey feeling and over fermented. It baked up flat and the crumb was a tacky feeling fiasco [Yep, I still can bake a brick or two (three actually) 🙂 ] So…. don’t forget about timing!

 Anyway, for this batch, when I got home, the dough was ready to warm up, finish proofing and bake. It worked out great. You all know how to do the bake now, so I will just show you the pics of the loaves:

All three Austrian loaves

All three Austrian loaves

Side view

Side view

Lots of blisters

Lots of blisters

Crispy crust

Crispy crust

I will have to post the crumb pics later as I haven’t even cut into the bread yet! This is a very easy recipe and makes great bread. The dough will make up three loaves of a little over 2 lbs each and the hydration is 67%.
Here is the promised crumb picture:
Crumb

Crumb

The crust turned out crispy and the crumb was soft, chewy and has a great sour tang.
8 Responses

  1. Beautiful loaves! The evaporated milk is an interesting ingredient. Did it noticeably change the flavor of the bread at all or effect the crust?

  2. HI Claire, the milk helps out with the nice colored crust, softens the crumb and encourages a better sour flavor. Teresa

  3. What did you do witht he dough at 10pm – chill it? IF yes when did you set it out again?

  4. Also what temp did you set your oven? How long did you bake and did you mist the bread or use a water pan?

    Thanks

  5. Hi Marty, I did put the dough in the refrigerator overnight, but I have a dedicated refrigerator at 48 degrees F. so it takes less time to warm up and proof in the morning, which I did at 10 am. I had the oven at 450 degrees ( whenever there is milk in the recipe) for 15 minutes, then turned down to 425 for 15 more minutes. I don’t bother with spraying anymore, I use the roasting lid method for steaming, which you can find if you do a search on my blog. Teresa

  6. Question: does it make a difference what type of starter you use? I have one that has been with me for years, have no idea what type it is….just water/flour and 5 yrs old…so if you have a recipe using a certain type of starter i.e. Austrian vs. no name will the bread be the same??

    Bev

  7. Hi Bev, it does’nt matter what sourdough starter you use as long as you adjust for the different proofing times some starters can have. Teresa

  8. Is there some place I can buy Austrian Sourdough Starter? My husbands mom was from Austria & recently passed away. It would mean alot to him if I could get some real Austrian starter!

Leave a Reply

