Can I have another….Sourdough Doughnut?

 Sourdough Doughnuts

Today I am working with Sourdough Doughnuts! I love sourdough baking! There is so much creativity involved.

I started last night with a preferment so that my dough today would have a high ratio of active cultures.

 doughnut preferment 

 preferment

 This morning I took the preferment which was bubbling along nicely and poured it into my Blendtec Mixer . I then added milk, mashed potatoes, vanilla, pastry and AP flours and other ingredients to make up a dough at 62 % hydration. The amounts were just at the limit of what my mixer could handle. The dough was shaggy looking when I was done with initial mixing.

after first mixing  

 However, after an autolyse period, the dough was looking stretchy and smoother.

After Autolyse

 I took the dough out of the mixer and put it into an 8 quart container, as my mixer had little room for the dough to expand. I used the Alaska starter so I didn’t have to wait all day long for the bulk ferment, plus the preferment also helps the dough to proceed at a faster pace.

starting bulk ferment  

 bulk ferment almost done

I let the dough raise for about 4 hours. Then I poured it out on the table and divided the dough into two pieces. Each piece weighed just a little over 4 lbs, I had made 8 lbs 1.4oz of dough!

 dough balls weighed about 4 lbs  

 Rolled out dough

 I let the dough pieces rest a bit and then rolled them out to about 1/2 ” thick circles. I had a donut cutter that I had bought at an antique store. It didn’t work too well. The inner piece for cutting the doughnut holes didn’t cut all the way through so I had to pull, rip out each center which was partially cut. I made about 50 doughnuts and 50 doughtnut holes. I let the dough proof on the couche for about 1.5 hours and then started to fry.

 Doughnuts all cut out    

 Closeup of cut out doughnuts

It took me almost exactly an hour to fry up all of the doughnuts. I had a deep, thick bottomed pan and I filled it with about 3/4 gallon of cooking oil. It kept the heat evenly so that I didn’t have to worry about the heat spiking or falling. I fried four doughnuts at a time for 2.5 minutes at just a little hotter than doughnut temperature around 192 degrees F.

Frying Sourdough Doughnuts  

 Frying Sourdough Doughnuts

I took the doughnuts out and drained them on a rack and then cooled them a little and put them in  a pan of glaze:

Doughnut holes getting glaze bath

Here are some pictures of the finished sourdough doughnuts:

Lots of glazed doughnuts  

I also shook some doughnuts in powdered sugar:

Lots of doughnuts  

 Powdered Doughnuts 

More doughnuts!!!  

  All of the doughnuts

Here are the doughnuts up close and in half:

Up close, sourdough doughnuts

I don’t think I have ever baked anything sourdough that got so many raves… “These are the best doughnuts I have ever tasted, MOM!”; “These are circles of joy!”; ” Honey, these are the absolute best ever!!!” ; “Can I have another… another…another……..”  

You get the idea. Sourdough doughnuts go stale faster than yeasted doughnuts, but they have a deeper flavor, more satisfying, they are denser, but tastier, and feel like you are eating something really good, not just sugarcarbs. They still warm up nicely in the microwave and taste stunning with a hot cup of coffee in the morning.  

7 Responses

  1. That is one mighty pile of doughnuts! How on earth are you going to eat them all?
    They look really, really good. I’ve been wanting to do doughnuts since I saw a recipe in the Brea bakery bread cookbook but there are only two people in my household and the other person doesn’t eat doughnuts. Sigh.

  2. Do you have the recipe for these donuts posted somewhere?
    I would love to try them with my sourdough. They look delicious
    Thank you
    Wyan

  3. Hello!I live in Italy ! and I appreciate your wonderful blog! Would you post me your doughnut recipe? You make me happy!!!

  4. Hello doughnut lovers, I have the recipe coming out in my new book, which is in progress. Look for it soon, Thankyou! Teresa

  5. They look good, but posting a “step-by-step” and leaving out the recipe as shameless ploy to advertise your upcoming book is not really in keeping with the spirit of a blog. For shame.

    • Hi jan, You are entitled to your opinion of course, but I give loads of recipes all of the time, just not every time. Also many who are regulars to my blog and site have helped me along for five years to complete the book, including testing the recipes. I like to give them a preview of what is coming. Happy baking, Teresa

  6. I too am a little disappointed there is no recipe just because I wanted to use it, but I understand where you are coming from. I would be willing to buy a copy if one was posted on your website, or a copy of your book if it was out?

    Please feel free to email me at the email provided in the “required” slot of the comment form.

    Thanks
    Jenna

Leave a Reply

