Blisters! Blisters! Crisp, crackly, blistered crust!

Blisters!

My experiment with sourdough starter feeding ended up with some of the best bread I have made yet. However, it wasn’t as sour/tangy as the last batch where I told you I feed the starter consistantly but at a lower ratio of fresh food to starter. This time I deliberately refreshed at a larger ratio of food to starter twice during the process. This sourdough baking is so much fun. Now I am narrowing down just how to get a great sour, and how to get a terrific crumb, but the crumb and flavor was better with the lower ratio and the crust was a definate winner with the higher ratio. So that means I still need to keep narrowing it down until I get a great mixture of both. That is what we are all shooting for, isn’t it?

Here are some assorted pictures of my basic white sourdough:

 

What more could I say?

One Response

  1. you said that if you refresh with a lower ratio you get a better taste and crumb, and if you refresh with a higher ratio you get better crust. What do you think would happen if you split the starter, and did seperate batches, one low ratio, one high ratio, then combined them when you make the dough?

Leave a Reply

