Serious Onion Rye Sourdough!

I am working on a new recipe for Onion Rye Sourdough that I have been calling Serious Onion Rye Sourdough because my hubby asked me to bake up some Onion Rye Sourdough, so I did, using a new technique, and it came out great….but…he claimed it wasn’t oniony enough. So he described in detail HOW much more oniony he wanted it and I increased the dried onion flakes, the granulated onion and I also chopped and carmelized up two large onions which I also added. Here are the results:

By the way, this Rye Sourdough was made using the Desem starter, I wanted to use the Danish Rye starter but it wasn’t fed and ready to go and the Desem starter was.

Serious Onion Rye Sourdough

Serious Onion Rye Loaf # 2

I also baked up one loaf in a regular bread pan for my son who doesn’t like crust (jeesh! Who wouldn’t like crust???).

Serious Onion Rye regular loaf

Here is a closeup of the crust on the hearth loaf:

Serious Onion Rye Crust

Here is a picture of the crumb:

Serious Onion Rye Crumb

You can’t really see the chopped, caramelized onions…too bad. This bread is soooo good!

It stayed fresh for several days unlike the white sourdoughs (I had to hide it to keep it several days).

 I only have one problem…hubby thought it could still use even more onion! So after two tries I am back to having to try again! Next time I will double (again)anything onion, and add lots more Caraway seeds. I wonder if they sell onion concentrate?? 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Since onions have alot of sugar in them, it would be interesting to see what would happen if you pureed 1-2 onions, strained out the juice with cheesecloth, and used that mixed in with the regular water? would be interesting to see what the extra sugars do when added tot he mix. I have absolutely NO idea if this is even possible, or if it would screw up the dough, but i thought it might be interesting. Also, what about mixing some onion powder in with the flour?

  2. I roast onions until dark. Puree them to the consistency of a jam and then add it as part of the liquid. It’s not supper strong but deliciously subtle with a nice gentle sweetness. I then set the loaf on canvas with poppy seeds. It looks really good.

    Thanks

    Tony

Leave a Reply

