Boudin Sourdough….sour???

In the former post, I reviewed  San Luis Sourdough and La Brea Sourdough but could not get a hold of some Boudin Sourdough to use in the review. Well…a wonderful person sent me two loaves of Boudin Sourdough to use on my blog…thankyou Robin! What  a surprise to receive a box containing two boules of Boudin Sourdough…imagine my shock! Here are pictures of the loaves:

Boudin Sourdough

Boudin Sourdough

A closeup of the crust:

Boudin Sourdough

Boudin 1

Boudin 2

The Boudin crumb:

Boudin crumb

empty bag

The Boudin Sourdough bread was very much like the San Luis Sourdough. The taste was pretty good and has a good tangy flavor(yes, it is sour) which really developed with toasting. The crust was a bit leathery and the crumb was somewhat dry and not very chewy. I guess I have to admit to being a little disappointed in what is considered by many to be the best American Sourdough. I think the La Brea was the best all around sourdough of the lot. If I had to buy sourdough…which I don’t 🙂  I would definately buy the La Brea sourdough. I will admit that if I had all three different brands freshly same day baked, there might be a different review. As you all know, sourdough is best on the first day baked after being completely cooled and the sour flavor allowed to develop to it’s fullest. I will try to obtain some sourdough baked at the bakery across the bay from me…they use the Northwest sourdough starter. I haven’t yet tasted sourdough baked by someone else using one of my starters, especially a professional bakery, it should be quite interesting!

One Response

  1. I’ve been playing around a bit with sourdough lately. In the past I’ve tried some of the different named sourdough starters, but had not found enough difference in the flavor beyond using starter made with yeast to bother with them. Guess my palate is uneducated!

Leave a Reply

