My Fibrament Baking Stone

I got a new baking stone. My old stone was from an unused kiln and it was crescent shaped, so I had a difficult time putting the longer loaves on it. I looked up different stone and decided to get a Fibrament stone. They make a size that fits my oven great and optimizes the space I have. I bought a 15″ x 20″ x 3/4″ stone for 66.00 which includes shipping. I have used it several times, and I can tell you one thing for sure…it bakes great bread! The only thing that I needed to learn about it, is that the thermal conductivity is greater than with firebrick, so I had to turn down my oven. I was doing the first five minutes of the bake at 500F degrees, but I now have to do the first five minutes of a bake at 450F degrees. The 500F degrees was just too hot and I was getting black spots on the bottoms of the loaves. I have baked several batches of bread now and I can say that I have really liked the Fibrament stone so far. Another thing about the Fibrament stone that I don’t care for is the fact that you can never put it into the sink and scrub it because you are never supposed to wipe it with water. I am guessing the probability of it cracking is great if the stone gets wet. It makes me wonder about spraying my loaves. I need to email the company and ask about that. Here is a picture of the stone:

baking stone

http://www.bakingstone.com/index.php

Leave a Reply

