One Night Sourdough

I love One Night Sourdough, especially when you forgot to start some sourdough earlier in the day and you just want to bake the next day anyway! You start a sponge later in the evening and let it sit overnight, mix up the rest next morning, bulk ferment, shape, proof and bake.So anyway that happened to me yesterday, I need some fresh sourdough by today and I missed getting it started earlier in the day yesterday, so I started the sponge last night and will be baking today. Here is what the sponge looks like in the morning:

sponge

 This is what the gluten looked like after the bulk ferment:

gluten

I mixed the rest of the ingredients into the sponge at 7:30 am this morning. By 10:45 it had doubled.I poured out the dough on the floured table and shaped up three loaves of varying weights.

 dough

I made about 5.5 pounds of dough altogether. The loaves proofed about 2.5 -3 hours.

Here is what I got:

first loaf

second loaf

third loaf

All three:

all three loaves

They are still cooling so will show the crumb later. I like the convenience of the one night sourdough especially if you don’t have room in the refrigerator for the separate loaves. I got a new baking stone too….I will have to tell you about it.
Well I’ve been busy but here is the pic of the crumb I promised:

crumb

This turned out to be a finer, moister crumb, I put in about 2/3 cup more flour so I could make a sandwich style bread. I also melted shortning and added that instead of oil.

2 Responses

  1. WOW Teresa, as usual you just make it look so easy.

    Could you give a few more details on the ingredients in the sponge and final dough?

    Thanks Gary

  2. That’s how I make most of my bread too. No cold dough to wake up in the morning, just a nice gassy leaven ready to mix without having to get up in the middle of the night (unless you need the bread for lunch and forgot to get busy the day before).

    Matthew

Leave a Reply

