Bread oven

When you get serious about baking bread, sooner or later you begin to think of ways to make your oven into a better baking oven for bread. First you go out and get a baking stone. Then maybe a cloche or you think of ways to line your oven more. Perhaps a stone on the top shelf as well so that it can radiate heat downward as well as hold a more intense heat. Well then you begin to wonder about what else you can do. I am at that point although I have already glimpsed beyond to my own masonry oven and/or a commercial oven (there may be one in the works). So here I am at the point where I am trying to figure out how to bake my bread even closer to a hearth oven, this is what I have done today:

oven

Here is the set up before putting on the bottom baking stone.

And here it is with the stone:

bottom stone

I lined the sides of the oven with three firebrick on each side,which I stood upright because two wouldn’t fit horizontally. I then added brick to the floor in two layers to lift the baking stone up off the element. I then put another baking stone on top. The baking stones are from a kiln and are crescent shaped. Not the best shape, but heck, that is what I have to work with. One of the baking stones has the edge broken off which worked out great for me because it wouldn’t have fit otherwise. I also had the firebrick laying out behind the shed not doing anything they are 1.25 inches thick.

I have made up a batch of the Coastal Loaf bread using regular sourdough starter instead of motherdough starter, I thought I would see if it was more like a baguette or french style bread. So I will try out the stone setup tomorrow.

2 Responses

  1. Great idea Teresa, I tried out the extra stone today and it is terrific. Now where can I locate some firebricks, hmmmm.
    regards
    Bill

  2. what type of bricks do you use to hold the bread stone up? ive heard stories of bricks exploding or popping violently in the oven.

Leave a Reply

